Sign in to follow this  
klaykrusher

Cherokee - What should I be looking for?

Well I've slowly been looking into my next off-road vehicle. The XJ seems to be the way I'm leaning although I do like the thought of a 4.7 Grand. Since I'm not a master mechanic and not looking to be one I prefer a newer 1999-2001 model. Not that that means things won't break, just that hopefully these years will have less miles and abuse.

Anything special I should be looking for or looking out for with the vehicle? What type of price range is reasonable? I've been seeing anything from 4000 -10,000 for these years.

Thoughts on cost of upgrades after the purchase? Obviously, armor, lift and tires. Would like to keep budget at less than 10,000 for all if possible.

Thoughts?

The 99 would be my choice, 29 spline Chrisler 8.25 rear axle and a high pinion Dana 30 front. The exhoust has one cat instead of three and after market parts are abundant. There's much more I have to say but I have to work on my Cherokee. This is a great campfire conversation. George :cool:

99 limited or classic is the cream of the crop as G said, after that the last 2 years had low pinion front (not a bid deal though still for up to 4"). the 01 and maybe the 00 had different brake rotors to, also not a big deal but does limit upgrade options.

if you can find a 97-99 4.0L in good shape with less than 70k miles, you'd be in heaven. i'd get the auto but that's personal preference, i do know it's a good tranny though. i don't know anything about the stick, but i think i'd heard it was questionable. as you already know, the 4.0L is a solid engine.