Sign in to follow this  
Number7

Most memorable trail

What was your favorite or most memorable trail you've run? George:cool:

Mine is the first time we ran the Rubicon in 2007. It was the most difficult trip and yet the most satisfying time I'd ever had. It was pure adventure: George and I lead but we'd never been there, it rained 2 days on the trail making navigation on the granite extremely difficult, Chrysler International led a group the through one day and we had a great time watching complete newbies drive a parade of brand new stock Rubicon JK's and collecting prime quotations such as "Rock? or rock-rock?".

After the 3 day adventure at the hotel in Tahoe, we ordered pizza and sat outside with our friend George eating, drinking and reminiscing. After a while I said good night and went in. As I was falling asleep I could faintly hear George and George talking about the trail, and their quiet conversation was punctuated with "Dude", "Duude!" "DUDE!". :cool:

Maybe this will change in Aug. when we do the Rubicon but for now it is all the trails near Silverton. The scenery is spectacular and there is always a cool destination.

Most memorable is Upper Terminator at Table Mesa, because it was very challenging to me the first time I ran it. I did it with one of Nena's classes (Barlow Jeep School for anyone not familiar with her programs) very early in my Jeep ownership and was both terrified by the obstacles and amazed that we made it through and only got stuck once (operator error...). That experience did more than anything to make me feel comfortable with my Jeep and subsequent trails. Incidentally, Nena let me tag along this year on a return to UT. Much less intimidating this time around, but I still got stuck--just in another place. At least I got to try out my winch. ;)