Sign in to follow this  
Scramblin_Jim

MetalCloak flat fenders

I'm considering going with the the JK Metal Cloak fenders to gain enough room for running 37" tires without a lift. Haven't done a lot of research yet on them or if I need to get different rims for the 37" tires. I do have a SuperChip programmer to readjust for the bigger tires. Wonder if I will need to regear so I'm not loosing power. The Rubicon has 4:10's.

Anyone have any experience with them? Or other insight to this approach?

Here is the link to their web site: http://www.metalcloak.com/JK-JKU-Wrangler-Bumpers-Fenders-Lifts-s/139.htm

Clearance would not be the fenders alone would it? What about off set of the rim in order to allow room for full turn? Also, even if you gained clearance via the front fenders, what allows 37s to fit within the rear tire well?

damnit Jim, i'm a shadetree mechanic, not a bodyshop!

i like their "Optional Aluminum Inner Fender Well" to keep a factory look and help keep mud/debris out of the engine bay.

here's a writeup you might find interesting, not about those flares specificly, but still someone trying to use flares alone to fit 37's. it sounds like you would need to do some additional trimming and certainly some bump-stopping since you are going to actually wheel it and need it to articulate: http://www.jkowners.com/forum/showthread.php?t=31183

i read a few other forum threads on JKOwners.com and it seems like the consensus is that "yes you can" run 37's like they claim, *but* to really use it offroad then it would be better with a 1 to 2" lift in conjunction with the flares.